Utah ~ AHGP
Part of the American History & Genealogy Project


Search Our Site

Counties ~ County Seat ~ Representatives

The State of Utah is at the present time divided into 27 counties, which are as follows:

County County Seat Population
Beaver Beaver 2043
Box Elder Brigham City 5755
Cache Logan 5756
Carbon Price 604
Davis Farmington 1103
Emery Castle Dale 533
Garfield Panguitch 976
Grand Moab 525
Iron Parowan 1084
Juab Nephi 2515
Kane Kaab 6l3
Millard Fillmore 1077
Morgan Morgan 800
Piute Junction 206
Rich Randolph 539
Salt Lake Salt Lake (1895) 48,071
San Juan Monticello 149
Sanpete Manti 2328
Sevier Richfield 1817
Summit Coalville 1515
Tooele Tooele  1154
Uintah Vernal 471
Utah Provo 5992
Wasatch Heber 1672
Washington St. George 1661
Wayne Loa 400
Weber Ogden 15828

State Officers

Governor, Heber M. Wells, of Salt Lake City
Secretary of State, James T. Hammond, of Logan
State Auditor, Morgan Richards, Jr., of Parowan
State Treasurer, James Chipman, of American Fork
Attorney General, A. C. Bishop, of Ogden
Superintendent of Public Instruction, John R. Park, of Salt Lake City

Justices of the Supreme Court

George W. Bartch, Chief Justice
James A. Miner, Justice
Robert N. Baskin, Justice;
Clerk of Supreme Court, L, P. Palmer
Reporter of Supreme Court, Geo, L. Nye
State Coal Mine Inspector, Gomer Thomas
State Engineer, R. C. Gemmell
State Dairy and Food Commissioner, H. J. Faust, Jr.
State Fish and Game Warden, John Sharp

District Judges

First Judicial District: Charles H. Hart
Second Judicial District: Henry H. Rolapp
Third Judicial District: Ogden Hiles, A. N. Cheray, A. G. Norrell
Fourth Judicial District: John E. Booth
Fifth Judicial District: Edward V. Higgins
Sixth Judicial District: William H. McCarty
Seventh Judicial District: Jacob Johnson.

Members of the Third Regular Session of the Legislature of the State of Utah.


Aquila Nebeker, President
A. C. Morris, Secretary
First District: William G. Nebeker
Second District: Joseph Howel
Third District: Aquila Nebeker
Fourth District: Louis W. Shurtliff. Fred J. Kiesel
Fifth District: Robert C. Chambers
Sixth District: Martha H. Cannon, David H. Peery, Jr., David O. Rideout, Jr., Richard K. Thomas, Orson F. Whitney
Seventh District: Abraham O. Smoot, Abel J. Evans
Eighth District: Joseph V. Robinson
Ninth District: Ferdinand Alder
Tenth District: Isaac K. Wright
Eleventh District: Rollin R. Tanner
Twelfth District: Harden Bennion


William M. Roylance Speaker
Joseph M, Cohen, Chief Clerk
First District: John P. Holmgren
Second District: Aaron F. Farr. Jr., Albert A. Law, Charles Z. Harris
Third District: David S. Cook
Fourth District: Tillman D. Johnson, George W. Bramwell, Nathan J. Harris, Sherman S. Smith
Fifth District: Charles A. Welch
Sixth District: John Fisher
Seventh District: George F. Richards
Eighth District: Samuel W. Stewart. Benjamin T. Lloyd, Horace Cummings, Heber Bennion, Alice M. Home, John E. Hansen, Joseph G, Bywater, Albert W, Forman. Charles M. Jackson, Richard B. Shepard
Ninth District: James Ivers
Tenth District: James W. Clyde
Eleventh District: Marinus Larsen, Joseph Lapish, John E. Betts, William Roylance
Twelfth District: William Oneil
Thirteenth District: Claude V. Wheeler
Fourteenth District: Parley Christianson, C. W. Sorenson
Fifteenth District: Reuben G, Miller
Sixteenth District: Jasper Robertson
Seventeenth District: Lester Taylor
Eighteenth District: Barnard H. Greenwood
Nineteenth District: Thomas C. Callister
Twentieth District: John R. Murdock
Twenty-first District: John H. Fullmer
Twenty-second District: M. W. Mansfield
Twenty-third District: Jess W. Crosby, Jr.
Twenty-fourth District: John Parry
Twenty-fifth District: John G. McQuarrie
Twenty-sixth District: Joseph E. Robinson
Twenty-seventh District: L. H. Redd Jr.



Source: History of the Scofield Mine Disaster, by J. W. Dilley, The Skelton Pub. Co., Provo, Utah, 1900.

Editors Note: The I.. O. O. F. were very active in raising money for the benefit of the widows and children along with the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This information is included for historical value, it does not mean the people of this project support these institutions.


Back to AHGP

Copyright August @2011 - 2018 AHGP The American History and Genealogy Project.
Enjoy the work of our webmasters, provide a link, do not copy their work

This web page was last updated.